Lydia Davis

1 06 2010

The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis has been out for awhile now, and I already knew I wanted to buy it/read it, but this nice review by Dan Chiasson at New York Review of Books reminded me.

Some of the very best stories in this book are the elegies toward the end for Davis’s parents, Robert Gorham Davis and Hope Hale Davis, both distinguished writers in their own right. Many of these stories turn on the use or misuse of a single word. All that needs to be said about being the writer-child of writer-parents is encapsulated in the two-line story “Nietszche”:

Oh, poor Dad. I’m sorry I made fun of you.

Now I’m spelling Nietszche wrong, too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

